Workshop on DOE User Facilities for Quantum Information Science – Jan. 12-13, 2022

The first U.S. Department of Energy National Quantum Information Science Research Center workshop on national laboratory user facilities takes place for half-days on Wednesday and Thursday, Jan. 12 and 13, 2022.

The workshop is virtual. Attendance is open only to DOE National QIS Research Center collaborators.

In this workshop, we explore ways we can leverage DOE national laboratory facilities for quantum information science. The national lab partners of the DOE quantum centers host a suite of world-class facilities, and DOE’s significant investment in these resources — including synchrotron light sources, a free electron laser, and a spallation neutron source — has advanced research in numerous fields of science.

Every facility has unique capabilities, and by capitalizing on these versatile instruments for quantum information science, we can accelerate QIS research and strengthen the quantum ecosystem.

Workshop objectives:

  • Introduce facilities and their capabilities
  • Outline facility user programs and proposal processes
  • Virtually tour facilities
  • Present the potential scientific impact facilities can have for QIS
  • Present recent facility-related developments in QIS

AGENDA

WEDNESDAY, JAN. 12

Science with DOE Facilities
2-3:50 p.m. ET / 11 a.m.-12:50 p.m. PT
Science at the Co-design Center for Quantum Advantage Facilities
Mingzhao Liu, Brookhaven
2-2:35 p.m. / 11-11:35 a.m.
Science at Q-NEXT Facilities (Argonne focus)
Martin Suchara, Argonne
Martin Holt, Argonne
2:35-3:10 p.m. / 11:35 a.m.-12:10 p.m.
Science at Quantum Systems Accelerator Facilities
Susan Clark, Sandia
Chris Spitzer, Berkeley Lab
3:10-3:45 p.m. / 12:10-12:45 p.m.
Break
3:45-4:10 p.m. ET / 12:45-1:10 p.m. PT
Introduction to DOE Facilities and Virtual Tours
4:10-6 p.m. ET / 1:10-3 p.m. PT
Overview of Brookhaven National Laboratory Facilities
Steve Hulbert, Brookhaven
4:10-4:40 p.m. / 1:10-1:40 p.m.
Overview of Argonne National Laboratory Facilities
Stephen Streiffer, Argonne
4:40-5:10 p.m. / 1:40-2:10 p.m.
Overview of Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory Facilities
Alexander Weber-Bargioni, Berkeley Lab
Eli Rotenberg, Berkeley Lab
5:10-5:40 p.m. / 2:10-2:40 p.m.
Q&A and close
5:40-6 p.m. / 2:40-3 p.m.

THURSDAY, JAN. 13

Science with DOE Facilities
2-3:50 p.m. ET / 11 a.m.-12:50 p.m. PT
Science at Quantum Science Center Facilities
An-Ping Li, Oak Ridge
Alan Tennant, University of Tennessee
2-2:35 p.m. / 11-11:35 a.m.
Science at Q-NEXT Facilities (SLAC focus)
Apurva Mehta, SLAC
2:35-3:10 p.m. / 11:35 a.m.-12:10 p.m.
Science at the Superconducting Quantum Materials and Systems Center Facilities
Alexander Romanenko, Fermilab
3:10-3:45 p.m. / 12:10-12:45 p.m.
Break
3:45-4:10 p.m. ET / 12:45-1:10 p.m. PT
Introduction to DOE Facilities and Virtual Tours
4:10-6:10 p.m. ET / 1:10-3:10 p.m. PT
Overview of Oak Ridge National Laboratory Facilities
Karren More, Oak Ridge
Hans Christen, Oak Ridge
4:10-4:40 p.m. / 1:10-1:40 p.m.
Overview of SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory Facilities
Aaron Lindenberg, SLAC
4:40-5:10 p.m. / 1:40-2:10 p.m.
Overview of Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory Facilities
Rich Stanek, Fermilab
5:10-5:40 p.m. / 2:10-2:40 p.m.
Overview of Los Alamos National Laboratory Facilities
Ross Mcdonald, Los Alamos
Adam Rondinone, Los Alamos
5:40-6:10 p.m. / 2:40-3:10 p.m.